Home > Current news > ICC WOMEN’S CRICKET WORLD CUP 2017 London




The eleventh edition of ICC women’s world cup is to be held from 24th of June to 23rd of July in England and Wales. It is the oldest and the most prestigious tournaments in women’s cricket. Eight teams will compete against each other for the title.

The surprising and interesting fact is that the first women’s world cup was held before the men’s cricket world cup. First women’s world cup was held in 1973 whereas first men’s cricket world cup was played in 1975.

The tournament will take place in two stages, group and knockout stage where 31 matches are to be played in total. In the group stage, known as Round Robin league each team will play a match against rest of the seven teams and top four teams based on the points will progress to the semi-finals. The finals will be held at Lords on July 23.


The top four teams in the women’s championship directly qualified for the ICC women’s world cup 2017 and for the rest four places world cup qualifier was held in Sri Lanka in February 2017 where India stood as champions. Australia, New Zealand, England and West Indies directly qualified for the tournament. India, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan are the rest four teams.


The first world cup was won by the hosts England. Australia has won 6 women’s world cup titles, the most by any team. They are the defending champions and the hot favorites to lift the 2017 ICC world cup title. The best performance of the Indian team was in 2005 where they lost to mighty Australians in the finals.

The current form of the Indian team is so good, where they lost only a single match in their last 17 encounters. They can give a tough competition to top teams like Australia and New Zealand. It will surely be an exciting tournament and may the best team win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *